Random Facts

Day Forty Eight.

Two more entries to go before this blog ends. I have no idea what to write to make this a little bit more special so I’ll just write this the way I write my usual entries.

Well, first and foremost, I quit my job. I knew I couldn’t do this forever, but I’ve always been afraid to let go of my job. Whenever I tell people that I work at home, they were always saying how lucky I am. I don’t have to commute, I don’t have to endure any nagging from my boss, I don’t have to worry about being late for work and my time’s in my hands. They always asked how I got this job because they wanted to do it too. But you know what? They’re the lucky ones to have real jobs. There’s nothing rewarding about working at home. I won’t get promoted, I won’t be recognized and I’m in total seclusion. This job is not as great as they think it is. So I quit.

Now I have so much free time it’s driving me nuts! So, I’ve invested all that free-time in my hobbies. I finished reading a new book, I made a little art project using paper-clay and wooden sticks, I started drawing again, I sang at a karaoke bar, I started playing this Bleach RPG online and I even made a hundred paper cranes (don’t ask why). I’ve also been actively participating in all of the online groups that I’ve joined before. I’ve also been making Membership ID cards for some of those groups. I’ve been starting forum threads and I’ve even signed-up on a fanfic-writing site. I’ve got a huge collection of fanfics I’ve written throughout the years but never posted any of them online. Well, I can’t post my old stuff anymore because I left them in my old hard-drive which is still back home. But I did start writing a new one for the drama Gokusen. It’s my own story for a 4th Gokusen series but it’s going to be a darker, more serious and more dramatic type of Gokusen. One with a flawed and confused Yankumi. I’ve always wanted to see Yankumi’s dark side and also want to see more yakuza action so I made this fanfic. Aside from that, I’ve also started playing SIMS again too! And this time, I’m really playing it and not just building towns and houses and making characters. I’m actually playing with the characters now until they grow old and die, which I never did before. I’ve also continued writing Saeko’s story but I’m not gonna post it yet because I’m still not sure if I can finish it two weeks.

You see, I’ve only got two weeks to do all the things I’ve been doing for the past few months because after this, I won’t be able to play games, write stories, or talk to people online anymore. So I’m trying to squeeze as many things as I could in these two weeks. Oh, I’ve finished “Sailor Fuku to Kikanjuu”, by the way, and it’s unbelievably amazing but tragic. I cried while watching One Litre of Tears and I thought I’ll never cry harder than I did when I watched that drama. But Sailor Fuku to Kikanjuu proved me wrong. I was wailing, for Christ’s sake! The neighbors probably heard me and thought a ghost is haunting the building! I’m a noise-less crier, okay? I never made a sound when I cry…never. Even when I had a fight with my mom or when I was bullied, tears would fall from my eyes but I never made a sound! So I couldn’t believe that I was actually wailing like that while watching a drama! This drama is THAT tragic!

First of all, Sailor Fuku to Kikanjuu could be quite misleading. When I saw the poster with Nagasawa Masami carrying a machine gun and with that bad-ass look on her face, I thought this would be about a very tough, merciless female yakuza boss. I thought it would be action-packed and bloody, like Kill Bill. But I was wrong! Masami’s character is no Yankumi. She can’t fight, she’s not strong nor intelligent and the only thing she has that makes her worthy of being a yakuza boss is her courage and determination. But even though this drama was not what I expected it to be I became so attached to it. You know how in most superhero movies and shounen anime, the heroes always get battered and bruised in the beginning of the fight but no matter how badly wounded they are or how impossible it is for them to win, they always win in the end. The good guys always wins and funny and lovable characters could never get killed. Well, sailor Fuku to Kikanjuu is the exact opposite. It shows us the real and very ugly side of the lives yakuza members. Not the sugar-coated version shown in Gokusen and My Boss Mu Hero. In reality, people die, good doesn’t always win and one man can’t beat 50 gangsters no matter how righteous and determined he is. It shows a painful and gruesome reality and that’s why I really loved it. This drama started light-hearted and slightly comedic but ended with such sadness and intensity. The scenes on the last few episodes were just so intense, they made my chest feel heavy. I couldn’t stop crying. I cried even more than Masami’s character did. It was just awfully sad! This is actually the reason why I started writing a Gokusen fanfic. I wanted to fuse the two dramas and make Gokusen as dark and realistic as Sailor Fuku to Kikanjuu. I even borrowed some scenes from this drama and placed it on my fanfic. Anyway, I’m telling you, this drama a must-see! But be prepared to spend the whole night crying and with a heavy-feeling on your chest. But then again, it’s probably just me, since I’m a big cry-baby. ๐Ÿ˜›

Since I’m done with one drama, I’m going to start watching another. This time it’s another detective drama: “Kuitan” (The Eating Detective). It’s on my detective drama list so I definitely have to watch it and I just read the cast list and Kindaichi is in it! I mean the character, Kindaichi Hajime, of the drama “Kindaichi Shonen no Jikenbo”. But in Kuitan, Kindaichi is just a little kid who looks oddly like Conan of “Detective Conan”. That’s making even more curious about this drama.

Oh and for a upcoming drama update, here are some of the dramas to look forward to this fall. First is “Bloody Monday”. This one got me really excited! It’s about a genius young hacker facing off against terrorist organizations. How cool is that? I love hacker stories! I’ve said it before but I think they’re really cool! (Well, at least the good ones, like my old college professor. He’s an ethical hacker.) And what’s even more exciting is that the lead character, Takari Fujimaru, is going to be played by Miura Haruma of Gokusen 3 and Binbo Danshi! I really like Miura as an actor. He’s the only guy in Gokusen 3 that I didn’t find annoying and he was adorable in Binbo Danshi! And speaking of Miura Haruma, he’s also going to be in “Galileo: Episode Zero”, the Galileo Special that will be aired this October. And Miura Haruma would be playing the young Galileo! Come to think of it, he does look a lot like a young Fukuyama Masaharu! Oh and Nagasawa Masami would be in this Special too!

Another drama to watch-out for is “Innocent Love” starring Horikita Maki. It’s about a young woman named Akiyama Kanon, who’s parents died in a fire seven years ago and what’s worse, her brother was arrested as the suspect. Because of her dark past, she had terrible life and was shunned by the people around her. They say this is going to be some sort cinderella-story where a pitiful girl’s life was changed when she met her prince charming which is going to be played here by Kitagawa Yujin. Yujin’s character, Junya, is a kind and innocent pianist here but also with a sorrowful past. Sounds interesting, right?

Also this fall, is a fun Ueto Aya drama entitled “Celeb to Daihinmin” where Aya would be playing a Japanese Paris Hilton who fell in love with a poor widower with three kids. This looks really fun. They say opposites attract but these two characters exist on opposite sides of the globe! She’s a spoiled, pampered rich girl with no sense of responsibilty and He’s a poor, hard-working, family man with three mouths to feed!

Finally, for the youngsters, Chinen Yuri, Nakajima Yuto and Yamada Ryosuke have a new drama this fall called “Scrap Teacher”. It’s like the exact opposite of Gokusen because in this drama the students would be the ones reforming their useless teachers! Now that’s a great role-reversal! It’s great that they made this drama into a Renzoku format! It was aired last April as a Tanpatsu under the title “Sensei wa Erai!” I haven’t seen it yet but it looks interesting!

Well, that’s it for the drama updates. As for the anime department, I’ve started watching Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion. I didn’t want to watch it at first because I thought it would be one of those animes with useless plots and tons of fan-service! But it’s actually really really good! There are some fan-service but their not excessively annoying like in other anime. You know, like in Rosario+Vampire, Moka’s panties can be seen ALL the time, the camera angle’s always exposing underwears and the female characters always fall down to show their panties! Why the hell are they so obsessed with panties?

Anyway, Code Geass is really cool. It has a lot of very interesting characters and I find it hard to choose a favorite! The moment I watched the first episode, I was hooked! I also love the fact that the lead character is a little villainy. Lelouch, is a good guy and he cares deeply for his friends and family but he’s also quite evil like Kira of Death Note. He uses people like pawns in a chess game and he kills mercilessly. For him, killing is like a game.

But that’s what I love about him! I love characters that have complex personalities and this drama has loads of them. Like Kallen, the tough chick who fights with the terrorists but pretends to be a timid and sickly rich girl to hide her secret! Then there’s my one of my favorite characters: CC, the mysterious and strange immortal witch who loves pizza. Unfortunately, along with the great characters, there are also the really annoying ones! Just when I thought I won’t be seeing Orihime for a while, she shows up here in Code Guess as “Shirley”, the perky, cheery girl who’s crazy about Lelouch! She looks and acts exactly like Orihime! Why? Why is she here too!? Then there’s also that irritating racist girl named Nina who acts all timid and innocent but she’s actually sick and perverted on the inside! Well, annoying characters can’t keep me away from this anime! I’m seriously hooked! It’s a lot like Gundam Wing with the royalties and politics and all but Code Geass has a more intelligent plot and complex characters. Oh and since it’s made by CLAMP, I saw some familiar faces like Suzaku who looks exactly like Shaoran of Card Captor Sakura and Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicles.

Well, that’s it for the drama and anime part. Since I don’t have much else to talk about, I thought I’d share a few facts about me that most people don’t know. Ever since I started this blog, I got to know myself more. A few years ago, I didn’t know much about who I am. My doubts, insecurities and dark past, I never faced any of them. I pretended to be different types of people just to fit into different types of groups. When my friends listened to American boybands, I listened to American Boybands. When my classmates read plotless teen romance novels, I read plotless teen romance novels. When my office-mates wore pink shirts, I wore pink shirts. But I never liked any of those things. Most of my hobbies and preferences growing-up were being dictated by the people around me. And the funny part is, I didn’t know that. I actually thought I really liked those things. I thought I love pink clothes, American boy-bands and cheesy romance novels. But when I began living alone, I started to find the real me.

So here are some of the good, the bad and the plain weird random facts about me:

– My favorite icecream flavors are vanilla and strawberry but I prefer eating them with tomato ketchup.
– I could eat up to 5 cups of rice in one meal and still have enough room in my stomach for dessert.
– Unlike most girls, I’m not afraid of the dark, or spiders, roaches and rats. But I am afraid of house lizards. I just hate that they look like a patch of human skin with tiny eyes and legs. They creep me out! But I do love iguanas! I even had one as a pet!
– I’m very good at handling my liquor. I could drink two pitchers of margaritas without throwing-up.
– I wore a Korean hanbok as a costume for a school event when I was seven . Everyone who didn’t know me thought I was actually Korean.
– The very first story I remember reading was Snow White. It was when I was three but I could still clearly remember the pictures in that book until today.
– I am a very good liar. Some say I could be con-artist. My old boss from an old part-time job I had, didn’t even know I’m Japanese. I told him I’m an Asian American who grew up in New York and he bought it. I’m not very proud of what I did but I needed to do it to get the job.
– I also lied to another old boss of mine for me to be able to quit my job. I told him that I was engaged to Kazu and we have to get married soon so I absolutely have to quit. He did not only believe it, he was teary eyed when I told him our story and he even announced it to the whole office. Kazu laughed so hard when he found out that our plan worked! He was my collaborator in this plan! ๐Ÿ˜›
– I shop-lifted when I was eight years-old. I wanted to buy a nice gift for a friend of mine for Christmas but my parents won’t give me money even though we could afford it, so I stole a small stone figurine from a gift shop. (Of course, now I know that stealing is bad even though it was really easy to do)
– I accidentally stole a book when I was 18 years-old. My friend and I were looking around in a bookshop and I placed my things on top of a stack of books. When I picked-up my things, I accidentally took one of the books with it. When we got out of the bookshop, the book fell on the floor and when I saw it and realized what happened, I planned on putting it back. But when I saw that the security guard was looking at us, I panicked! So my friend and I just ran for it!
– When I was six years-old, I punched a mean boy so hard that he toppled into some chairs and seriously hurt himself. But since I was known as a quiet and timid girl, no one believed him when he told the teachers about it.

– I have an uncle who’s a famous American author. He met my aunt on a website and now they’re married and living in America. He’s really cool and even sends me signed copies of his books.
– I was once ran-over by my own cousin with his bike when I was nine. I hid it from my grandparents for him not to get punished but they found out when they saw the bloody sheets in my room and my grandfather chased my cousin out of the house with his katana.
– I fall asleep whenever I’m listening to RnB music. But only if the singer is a male artist.
– I faint at the sight of blood. (Well, only real blood. I feel okay when I see them in movies.)
– I ran away from home three times when I was a kid and I wasn’t scared at all. It was actually exciting!
– I like to throw stuff on the TV screen when the character in a TV show irritates me.

– I once peed on my skirt in front of everyone when I was seven. We’ve been standing for so long and I couldn’t hold it in! It was soooo embarassing!!!

– I’ve had long hair since I was little but when a popular guy liked me when I was in middleschool, I cut my hair really short for him to stop liking me. I was being bullied because of him liking me. So even though I liked him too, I cut my hair because he said that’s what he liked most about me.

– I’m such a literature geek that when I was in highschool, I found out that the books I’ve been borrowing from the school library hasn’t been borrowed by anyone since 1940.
– I’ve never given a guy chocolates for Valentines Day. And I mean, never! Not even to my co-workers and family members. But I did receive gifts on White Day, which was weird but nice.
– I had a very expensive European doll named Emily when I was kid. I carried her with me everywhere I go but when my nanny painted her nails red while I was asleep, I thought the doll was possessed and I locked it up in the storage room and never took it out.
– When I get sea-sick, I sing as loud as I can to keep myself from throwing-up. It’s actually embarassing!
– I pretend to be singing in a concert whenever I sing in the shower. Complete with hand-gestures and weird facial expressions.
– I’m very good at mimicking voices and weird sounds. I can also imitate various English accents.
– A guy friend of mine lent me a doujin (Adult or x-rated manga) by mistake before. I was surprised at first but I still read it out of curiosity and it’s not as gross as I thought it would be. Some doujins are actually like a fanfic manga (only with useless sex scenes). So I’m not embarassed to say that I read doujins occassionally. I’m not embarassed because I read them for their story. It’s just like reading a manga and there are some really good ones out there!
– I suck at cooking Japanese food but I make one mean lasagna.
– I can’t drink hot beverages right away. I have to blow them non-stop for a few minutes before I could drink them.
– I hate it when people stare at me. It’s okay if I’m on-stage or when I’m talking to that person but if someone stares at me for no reason, I get really pissed off.
– I can’t look people in the eye. (Except from family members, close friends and job interviewers)
– I’m deathly scared of chatrooms and phone calls.
– I love eating chocolates more than anything in the world.
– My grandma made me a pillow when I was a baby and although it’s old, lumpy and smelly now, I can’t sleep without it.
– I don’t move when I sleep. One of my guy friends told me that when he slept over at my place. He was up all night because of his insomnia and he watched me while I was sleeping to see if I would drool or something. But he said, I didn’t move at all! He found it really creepy.
– I’m the type of person, you wouldn’t want to dare because I would do anything you dare me to do. Like one time, my guy friends and I were at the beach and I jokingly told one of them that I’d throw a beer bottle at him if he doesn’t stop making fun of me. Of course I was kidding but then he said “Okay, I dare you to throw that bottle!” And I did throw the bottle at him! It only missed him by an inch! Even I was surprised that I did it! Weird huh? I also ate crispy crabs dipped in chocolate syrup and wasabi because someone dared me to.
– The strangest food I’ve ever eaten are fried locusts. They’re not so bad, actually.
– My favorite beverage is strawberry milkshake.Yum!
– When I’m reading something very interesting, I get so absorbed in what I’m reading that a bomb could explode right in front of me and I wouldn’t notice.
– The very first time I wore a dress (that I own) was when I was in college.
– I’m scared of little kids. I find them cute and all but I just don’t know how to act around them. Plus they’re so unpredictable! (Wait a second, I sound like Galileo! But it’s true though)
– I have obsessive compulsive disorder sometimes. One time I couldn’t sleep because the curtains were uneven. I was also late in class once because I couldn’t leave the house until I made sure the doormat wasn’t askew.
– I also have very bad short-term memory. I could remember lines from an anime I watched 15 years ago but I sometimes forget where I placed an object that I was holding a second ago.
– I have a habit of making-up explanations for every single thing in the world. And the funny part is, people actually believe them. So when my friends or siblings ask me weird questions like “What do you think those things are made of?” “How do you think that machine works” or “How did that guy do that?”, I always have a long and very convincing answer eventhough I have absolutely no clue about it. But my explanations were always very convincing they end up saying, “Wow, I didn’t know that.” Of course, I always tell them in the end that I’m kidding and they get relly pissed-off because I completely fooled them.
– I find occult stuff like Vampires, Witches and Demons really interesting. But of course I have no plan on going over to the dark side. ๐Ÿ˜›
– I hate crowded places. I get dizzy and can’t breathe when I’m surrounded by lots of people.

– I analyze absolutely everything! Like when I’m watching TV, I would suddenly complain about a commercial I’ve just seen because what they showed wasn’t logically correct. My sisters get really pissed when I do that!
– I have very delicate skin. I get wounded around the hips when I wear slightly tight shorts, pants or skirts and I get cuts my skin if I scratch it a little too hard. Good thing my wounds heal very fast.
– When I was a kid I got ran over by a bike, fell on my face really hard, scraped my knees while playing etc. but I don’t have a single scar on my body. It’s mind-boggling!
– I had a nanny who used to hit me and shove a spoon really hard into my mouth. She was really scary and her face haunts my dreams until this day.
– I wore a maid’s outfit with combat boots for Haloween a couple of times. You know how Holoween’s the one time of the year that you could dress-up as someone you’re not. Well, I couldn’t possibly be an Akihabara maid because they’re all perky and cheery and tries to sound cute all the time! That’s just not me.
– The first english song I’ve learned to sing was “Somewhere Out there” from the movie: “An American Tail”.
– The first english movie I watched was “The Never-Ending Story”. (The one w/ the white flying dog/dragon)

– The first anime I’ve really obsessed about was “Yu Yu Hakusho”. ( I practically worshiped Kurama)

– I’ve always wanted to be a manga artist since my classmates used to always come up to me and ask me to draw anime characters for them.

– I spent around 50% of my entire life day-dreaming.

– My favorite colors are black, green and white. And I absolutely hate the color pink!

– I love jellybeans!!! I can eat any flavor there is..except licorice! (Ewww!)

– I love mixing-up all types of food. One time, I ate curry with green tea cake and lemonade. Ever tried a tuna and bacon pancake with maple and chocolate syrup? I have! ๐Ÿ˜›

– I’ve never thrown garbage or even a single candy wrapper on the street. Not even once.

– I always obey the stop lights, no matter how much in a hurry I am. If it’s red, I wouldn’t cross the streets even if everyone else is crossing! Man, I’m so stuck-up!

– I could stay-up for three to four days straight as long as I’m doing something really interesting. Like when I’m doing a very fun project or playing a very interesting RPG.

– I love watching American Idol and I agree with Simon all the time. (What does that say about me? :-P)

– My most favorite place in the world is inside the movie theater. Second is Starbucks.

– My favorite pizza topping is anchovy.

– I love animals. In the whole duration of my life, I’ve had 25 dogs, 11 cats, 7 rats, 6 guinea pigs, 4 rabbits, 2 chickens, 1 chick (the cat ate it) and 1 iguana. Oh I forgot the fishes! But I lost count of them!

Well, I think this is long enough. There’s still more but I have to go to bed now. Thanks for reading! Two more entries to go! The next one would be different from my usual posts. I promise!

End of Day Forty Eight.


About this entry